Grok’s Costs And OpenAI’s Rules: What Could Change In The AI Market?
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

🔍 Read the full analysis: Grok’s Costs And OpenAI’s Rules: What Could Change In The AI Market? on ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Buying for a business?Offer from Amazon

Get business pricing on tech for your team

  • Business-only prices and quantity discounts
  • Tax-exempt purchasing
  • Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

TL;DR

Elon Musk said on Nov. 1 that Grok Bot’s cost of service was unsustainably high relative to revenue, but gave no figures or details of a policy change. In the same week, OpenAI updated paid-account rules and said ChatGPT and Codex will share a token-based allowance from December, while also increasing some Pro allowances.

Elon Musk said on Nov. 1 that serving Grok Bot had been “unsustainably high relative to revenue,” while OpenAI updated rules for paid accounts and announced that some ChatGPT and Codex usage will draw from a shared allowance starting in December. The developments put renewed attention on the limits behind flat-priced AI subscriptions, but neither company’s announcement establishes that subscription prices are rising or that unlimited access is ending across the market.

Musk made the comment on X in response to a user asking whether Grok Bot usage could be reset after users reported running out quickly. Musk did not provide cost, revenue or margin figures, say what had changed, or announce a new limit or reset. His statement referred specifically to Grok Bot, xAI’s agent, rather than Grok chat generally. It is not clear from the post whether the service’s usage allocation had already changed.

OpenAI’s help-center information says it limits how many paid ChatGPT accounts can be used on one device and how many subscriptions can be bought with one card or device. The rules apply to Go, Plus and Pro plans, but the help page, as described in the source material, does not publish a numerical threshold. OpenAI also says that from December, Plus, Pro and Business subscribers will use one token-measured allowance across ChatGPT and Codex. The source says unlimited “Instant” chats remain outside that meter.

OpenAI also raised some allowances during the same week. Its release notes say Pro 100 and Pro 500 received twice their previous Work and Codex allowance, while a planned reduction for Pro 200 was cancelled. This differs in scope from a separate post by OpenAI employee Thibault Sottiaux, who described changes across Pro tiers and Business Premium. The release notes provide the narrower account of what changed.

At a glance
reportWhen: Developments reported Nov. 1, 2026; Ope…
The developmentMusk’s comment on Grok Bot costs coincided with OpenAI changes to paid-account limits and how some subscribers’ usage will be measured.
Thorsten Meyer AI
29 Oct – 1 Nov 2026

Infographic 01 · One week, four moves

More allowance, more metering: the week the AI flat rate cracked

In four days, OpenAI raised some limits, tightened others and announced one shared meter, and Musk called the cost of serving Grok Bot unsustainably high relative to revenue.

“The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue”Elon Musk on X, 1 November 2026, 20:34 UTC, replying to a user who asked for a Grok Bot reset

0cost or revenue figures in Musk’s post
5paid ChatGPT plans under the new device limits
DecChatGPT and Codex share one allowance
2×Work and Codex allowance, Pro 100 and Pro 500
29 Oct · Confirmed

OpenAI gives more on top plans

Pro 100 and Pro 500 get twice their Work and Codex allowance. A planned cut on Pro 200 is cancelled.

Late Oct · Confirmed

Limits per card and per device

ChatGPT may block a new subscription if too many are tied to one card or device. Applies to Go, Plus, Pro 100, 200 and 500. No number published.

31 Oct · Confirmed

One meter from December

Plus, Pro and Business: one token-based allowance across ChatGPT and Codex. Unlimited Instant chats stay outside.

1 Nov · Confirmed post, no numbers

Musk: Grok Bot cost too much

One sentence, past tense. No figures, no new limit, no word on resets or prices.

Paid resets on ChatGPT pull next week’s allowance forward; they do not add usage. Credits are a prepaid balance used after the included allowance.

Sources: Musk on X, 1 Nov 2026 · Tibo on X, 29 Oct 2026 · OpenAI: card and device limits · OpenAI: ChatGPT and Codex usage limits · OpenAI: paid resets.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI

How AI Subscription Limits Are Shifting

The changes matter because a monthly subscription price does not mean every task costs a provider the same amount to serve. Long-running agents that research, browse or complete multi-step work can consume more computing resources than a short chat response. xAI’s documentation says Grok Bot usage is measured by agent steps and tokens, and that consumption depends on the task and the effort it requires.

OpenAI’s planned shared allowance makes that trade-off more visible to subscribers: using Codex could draw on the same pool as ChatGPT, rather than being tracked separately. That may affect how people divide their usage across tools, although the source material does not specify the allowance sizes or how individual tasks will be charged against it. For businesses, a seat price combined with measured use can make budgeting more complex; for individuals, a plan’s practical value will depend partly on its limits and the kind of work they do.

These developments are evidence of provider-specific changes, not proof that every AI company is ending flat-rate plans. OpenAI’s expanded allowances also show that metering and increases can occur at the same time. The broader market effect remains uncertain until companies publish clear limits, pricing and usage terms.

Products Worth Considering

Bose QuietComfort True Wireless Earbuds with Active Noise Cancellation, Black

Bose QuietComfort True Wireless Earbuds with Active Noise Cancellation, Black

Bose SoundLink Flex Bluetooth Speaker (2nd Gen), Waterproof, Dustproof, USB‑C, Up to 12 hr Battery, Black

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

The Changes Behind This Week’s Debate

The source material places the announcements against earlier debate over costly subscriptions. OpenAI launched a $200-a-month ChatGPT plan in December 2024, describing access to its best models as unlimited. In January 2025, chief executive Sam Altman wrote on X that OpenAI was losing money on Pro subscriptions because people used them more than expected. That historical comment does not establish the profitability of current plans.

xAI launched its X Subscription on Oct. 12, 2026, according to the source. Its pricing page lists Grok Bot as part of Premium at $30 a month, Super at $100 and Ultra at $200, and says its usage comes from a shared weekly pool that also covers Grok chat and xAI models in the coding tool Cursor. The source says xAI measures Bot activity by steps and tokens, rather than simply counting messages.

On OpenAI, the late-October account and device rules and the announced December shared allowance are separate policy changes. The Oct. 29 allowance revisions also complicate any simple account of across-the-board tightening: some paid users were set to receive more Work and Codex usage, even as OpenAI introduced shared measurement for other activity.

“The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue.”

— Elon Musk, in a reply on X on Nov. 1, 2026

Unanswered Questions on Costs and Caps

Musk did not say how much Grok Bot costs to serve, how its revenue compares, or what drove the reported expense. He also did not confirm a changed weekly pool, a reset, a price adjustment or a new usage cap. The past tense in his post may suggest a change already occurred, but that interpretation is not confirmation.

The source describes reports of a post from Grok’s official account referring to “adjusted allocations” and a dashboard fault that temporarily showed usage as too high. The writer says they could not locate the post itself, so those details remain reported rather than independently confirmed here. OpenAI’s device and card rules also lack a published number in the cited material, and the sizes and precise operation of its December shared allowance are not specified.

There is no evidence in the provided material that all AI providers are changing their plans in the same way, or that flat subscription prices as a category are going away. Anthropic is mentioned as another provider with subscription limits, but no specific new Anthropic policy is documented.

What Subscribers Should Watch

The next stated milestone is December 2026, when OpenAI says Plus, Pro and Business users will draw from a shared ChatGPT and Codex allowance. Subscribers will need the published usage rules and account pages to understand the allowance’s size, how activity is counted and whether different models or tasks consume it at different rates.

For Grok Bot, the source material identifies no announced date for a reset, a revised cap or a pricing change. Any assessment of a market-wide shift will depend on further statements and clearer plan details from xAI and other providers. Until then, Musk’s post is a cost claim without supporting figures, while OpenAI’s account rules and planned shared meter are the concrete changes described.

Key Questions

Did Musk announce a new Grok Bot limit?

No specific new limit was announced in the quoted post. Musk said serving Grok Bot had been unsustainably expensive relative to revenue but did not say whether the weekly usage pool had changed.

When will ChatGPT and Codex share an allowance?

OpenAI says the shared, token-measured allowance for Plus, Pro and Business plans will begin in December 2026. The source material does not give the allowance sizes.

Which OpenAI plans are covered by the card and device rules?

The cited OpenAI help-center information covers Go, Plus and Pro paid plans. It describes limits on accounts used on one device and subscriptions bought with one card or device, but the source gives no numerical threshold.

Did OpenAI reduce every subscriber’s usage?

No. The source says OpenAI doubled Work and Codex allowances for Pro 100 and Pro 500 and cancelled a planned Pro 200 cut. The December shared allowance is a separate change, and its detailed effect on individual subscribers is not provided.

Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com

You May Also Like

15 Best AI Image Generators For Creative Projects In 2027

A 2027 buyer’s guide compares 15 AI image tools and related resources, distinguishing image generators from prompt aids and learning materials.

5 Ways TorchNeuron Makes AWS Trainium Model Runs Easier

Hugging Face says TorchNeuron will enter public beta Oct. 20, bringing a native PyTorch route to AWS Trainium with acknowledged compilation limits.

GPT-6 Sol And Luna

Speculation grows around the potential release of GPT-6 Sol and Luna, with increased coverage and search interest but no official confirmation yet.

A Look At Granite Switch 4.1’S Unified Endpoint For Chat, Decisions, And Speech

Hugging Face’s Granite Switch 4.1 combines chat, decision adapters and speech transcription behind one endpoint; benchmark and deployment details remain limited.